By Jack K. Merrill, Esq.
In prior years, employment law changes came primarily from courts and could reasonably be characterized as adjustments. In 2014, however, Massachusetts enacted several new laws that will have major effects on employers.
The changes will bring increases to the minimum wage rate, mandatory sick leave benefits, and new rights for domestic workers. When the permanent creation of the Council on the Underground Economy and the early 2015 paternity leave law are considered, the landscape for employers looks substantially different.
Here’s an overview of each of the 2014 statutory changes.
Massachusetts was not the only state to raise the minimum wage rate last year, and the Commonwealth’s approach will be long-lasting. The phased increase will ultimately bring the minimum hourly rate to $11 on January 1, 2017. The rate went to $9 on the first of this year and will increase to $10 on January 1, 2016. Tipped employees also got increases, to $3/hour in 2015, $3.35 next year and $3.75 in 2017. In addition to these minimums, tipped employees must receive enough in tips to bring their total hourly earnings to the applicable minimum rate. Any shortfall must be made up by employers. [Read more…]